

Kinross Cycling Club

13th Annual General Meeting 27th Feb 2023, 19:00 Kirklands Hotel, Kinross

Present

Richard Sanderson (Chair), Neil Curr (Treasurer), Tim Payne (Sec), Jane Timperley (President), Paul Zarb, Pete Mchale, Duncan Campbell, Maggie Shearer, Graham Millar, Rachel Payne, Fran Tierney, Sean Stevenson, Fran Mcgregor, Kathryn Baker, Rory Maddocks, Jimmy Skilling, Brian Monaghan, David Morrill, Paul Davies, Bruce Moffatt, Jeff Wall, Christian Darbyshire, Miriam Rennet, Dorothy Finlay, Pete Finlay, Paul Maddocks

The Chair opened the AGM @19:00 and welcomed everyone to the meeting

Approval of minutes from 2022 - -

- No corrections required and minutes were approved Richard Sanderson nominated and Paul Zarb seconded
- 2022 Annual Report
- Jane summarised the annual report
- Full report can be found in on the KCC website
- In addition to the report Jane covered the club's MTB rides & Ladies rides. There were no questions from the floor

Treasurer's Report

- Neil summarised the treasurer's report. Bank balance healthy, full report is available upon request via Committee
- Miriam proposed due to healthy state of club funds, kit/credits for those that volunteer action taken for club committee to discuss proposal
- Neil confirmed club income does not affect club tax status
- Membership invited to put forward suggestions for future charity donations
- Kathryn Baker proposed treasurer report, seconded by Rachel Payne

Election of new committee

Role	Nominee	Proposer	Seconder
Chair	Richard Sanderson	Jane Timperley	Neil Curr
Secretary	Tim Payne	Christian Darbyshire	Jane Timperley
Treasurer	Neil Curr	Duncan Campbell	Rachel Payne
President	Jane Timperley	Kathryn Baker	Fran Tierney
Kit Manager	Fran Tierney	Paul Zarb	Rachel Payne
Membership Sec	Maggie Shearer	Duncan Campbell	Paul Zarb
Website/Tech	Graham Millar	Duncan Campbell	Paul Zarb

Non specific committee members

• Paul Zarb

Non – Committee Roles

Role	Nominee
Welfare Officer	Kathryn Baker
FCA Liaison	Paul Maddocks

Other Club Business

- Proposed that club membership fee would remain at £10 for 2023-24 season Neil Curr Proposed, Christian Derbyshire Seconded
- Jane Timperley to receive honorary membership following acknowledgement of the huge amount of work she puts into the club's activities . Graham Millar nominated, Paul Zarb seconded

AOB

- FCA midweek TT events now governed by CTT. Entries must now be done via the CTT website. This doesn't impact the club Grand Prix events
- Miriam proposed emergency contact details to be captured for all club members agreed to try to amend Spond to allow members to upload Emergency Contact Details – Action taken by committee to look into options
- Club Kit order Members alerted to intention to put club kit order on Spond.
- Club Training and Road Riding Group skills session Jane raised intention of organising training sessions in the spring to ensure safety on future club rides
- Kit Sponsorship Christian raised prospect of club kit sponsorship Issues with British Cycling costs made it uneconomical, plus the practicalities of collecting sponsorship costs from advertiser means it's not something the club are looking to pursue at this point

The meeting was closed at approx. 20:30



Kinross Cycling Club

KCC ANNUAL REVIEW 2022

Finally, we have had a more normal year for club activities, and club membership is sitting at an all-time high of 198 members. The club year got off to a good start with us being able to hold Sportive Kinross for the first time since 2019. Our 10th sportive. David Haining and the sportive committee delivered a fantastic and well supported event, which people were clearly delighted to participate in. Donations to CHAS from this event have now reached circa £90,000.

The TT series starts shortly after the sportive and this year we ran 10 events, with entrants requiring to complete 6 events and a volunteering to be eligible for a trophy. Richard Sanderson and Tim Payne were joint series winners this year with Rory Maddocks in 3rd place. There has been some very impressive time trialling from older members this year. Miriam Rennet won the ladies series with Kathryn Baker in second place. It would be amazing to see more female challengers next year. It really is a very informal and non-threatening series, and the only person you are really racing against is yourself and the clock. Thanks to everyone who helped make this series happen.

KCC has also been well represented in the Fife Cycling Association TT series.

We have continued to offer a spectrum of weekend club runs. The Sunday run caters for the more traditional faster paced club run cyclist. We offer rides with café stops, and at a more social pace, on Saturdays throughout the year. In summer we offer two Saturday rides. All of our club activities are welcoming and supportive, and all rides have a "no drop" policy. In addition, we have offered Monday night gravel rides usually hosted by Paul Zarb. A big thank you to all of the club members who organise club rides on behalf of KCC. They bring a lot of pleasure to our members.

In the autumn, KCC (Paul Zarb and Tim Payne at the helm) organised an event for the Scottish Cyding CX series at Lochore meadows. A great deal of work goes into organising/setting up and dismantling this event but it was worth it for a great day with a good turnout. Thanks to everyone who helped make it a success.

We were able to have an awards night dinner again this year at the Grouse and Claret. Trophies were awarded for a broad array of cycling accomplishments, all well deserved. Doc Roddy put on a challenging quiz to test our brains. This year's prestigious Rider of the Year trophy (voted for by the membership) was won by Richard Sanderson.

Club finances this year have been boosted by income from the Sportive and the CX race. More information is provided in the treasurer's report. This income enables us to keep the membership fees down and also allows us to subsidise some training opportunities. This year we have been able offer funded training for ride leaders and also for first aiders. Over the winter we have been running a strength and conditioning class, coached by Joanna Waz and very much appreciated by the members who attend.

Sports clubs like ours are all run by volunteer enthusiasts who make things happen. We need everyone who cycles to take on some of this from time to time in order for us to offer what we do. Thanks to everyone who has volunteered, marshalled, organised rides and events and has generally contributed to the smooth running of the club. And please consider whether you might be able to help out next year, or even join the committee.



Kinross Cycling Club

KCC ANNUAL REVIEW 2022

Thanks also to this year's committee, Richard Sanderson (chair), Tim Payne (secretary), Neil Curr (treasurer), Maggie Shearer (membership), Fran Tierney (kit), PaulZarb, David Haining (sportive), Sean Stevenson, Graham Millar (IT), Kathryn Baker (welfare officer), Jane Timperley (president). At the AGM we all stand down and anyone is eligible to be nominated for any role.

Thanks to everyone for a grand year of cycling.

Jane Timperley, president KCC, 23/2/23